Semi Self Sustainability

Lately, My interest in Gardening and cooking for that matter, has created a growing desire to become as self-sustainable as possible. This desire has been stoked by two books I have been reading. The first is The River Cottage Cookbook by Hugh FearnleyWhittingstall. Hugh is a down sizer that has accomplished remarkable self-sustainability through animals and vegetables reared on a small plot of land and through barter. The second book, which has opened my eyes and caused me to think more about what I am eating, is Animal, Vegetable, Miracle written by Barbara Kingsolver. Before her book, I never really questioned eating blueberries in January. I now see the extraordinarily excessive use of our fossil fuels in order to have such luxuries. So, we want to do our part to reduce our contribution to the absurdity of our overly taken for granted ability to procure foods regardless of the season.
This of course cannot happen overnight. It involves many lifestyle changes and total self sustainability is nearly impossible. What can be done and what I want to work towards, is a lifestyle that allows Heather and I to consume only self-grown vegetables and and other foodstuffs that are grown, raised, and produced in the Charleston area. We are lucky to be surrounded by many great farmers that responsibly raise vegetables and animals. My first step has been the installation of several gardening areas and a regimented composting operation.

I currently have beans, butternut squash, rutabaga, collard greens, carrots, beets, brussel sprouts, and arugula in the ground alongside our already established herbs of rosemary, thyme, kaffir lime, oregano, bay laurel, tarragon, chives and basil. We can hopefully trade some of these with our friends who are also growing.

~ by Schwarvin on August 12, 2008.

One Response to “Semi Self Sustainability”

  1. What’s a rutabaga?

Leave a comment